Home > Uncategorized > Importance of Charging and What I get per charge

Importance of Charging and What I get per charge

Yesterday I used my scooter three separate times, including appointments, errands and social plans. It can be slightly inconvenient, but it is important to plug in to a charger every single time. This not only ensures the maximum range for the next ride, but more importantly prevents sulfation, a process in which crystallization of the lead sulfates forms which limits the future ability to charge fully. This is specific to the lead acid batteries I have in my Native Z6, and would be true for any vehicle that uses lead acids. You can read more about lead acid batteries here. The particular batteries used in the Native Z6 are B.B. batteries which are of the AGM (absorbed glass mat) variety and are pretty much as good as you can get without upgrading to lithium ion. These batteries don’t require any maintenance and are installed without any kind of BMS (battery management system).

Charging time can vary a lot. Last night I had ridden only a couple of miles so it only took a few minutes to charge the batteries back up. A full charge from completely dead would take just 3 1/2 hours with my fast charger. I use a killawatt meter when I charge so I can tell how much power I’ve put into the battery and can also access what percentage of its capacity I had used. The biggest charge I put in is just below 1 1/2 kWh (kilo Watt hours) which locally means less than 20 cents at the first tier of electrical rates! Given that I can go 22 miles on a charge, that puts the cost of use at less than 9/10 of a cent per mile. Compare that to gasoline at 3.20/gallon (not including all costs of providing gasoline that are paid by our taxes) and based on price along I am getting 361 miles per cost of a gallon! 361 mph! Now that is a great return on investment. Add to that the impact of using energy created through a combination of renewable sources, given that PG&E uses Nuclear, Large Hydro, Wind and Solar as a large part of its mix and compare that to having emissions from the tail pipe rather than in a more tightly controlled and monitored (when did you last monitor the emissions from your tailpipe?) power plant, and the impact to the environment is far greater yet.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

